Bloom's Taxonomy

The Taxonomy of Educational Objectives, often called Bloom's Taxonomy, is a classification of the different objectives and skills that educators set for students.

The taxonomy was proposed in 1956 by Benjamin Bloom, an educational psychologist at the University of Chicago.

Bloom's Taxonomy divides educational objectives into three "domains:" Affective, Psychomotor, and Cognitive.

Within each domain are different levels of learning, with higher levels considered more complex and closer to complete mastery of the subject matter.

A goal of Bloom's Taxonomy is to motivate educators to focus on all three domains, creating a more holistic form of education.

Bloom's Taxonomy
Bloom's Taxonomy

The diagram above illustrates the cognitive process.

It depicts the belief that remembering is a prerequisite for understanding and that understanding is a prerequisite for application. 

Why Use Bloom's Taxonomy?

Please click on the link below to open the document.

Why use Bloom's Taxonomy (PDF 74KB Opens in a new window)

If you require further information about assessment or any of the resources available please contact:

Sarah Smallwood, Improvement officer (primary)
Tel: (01482) 392469
Email: sarah.smallwood@eastriding.gov.uk

No resources available.
What do you think of the content and resources on this page?
Please enter your comments below