Statutory areas of understanding

The syllabus has three statutory Areas of Understanding, the same for each key stage:

  • Beliefs and Practices
  • Identity and Values
  • Meaning and Purpose

All content in the Areas of Understanding is statutory and therefore must be taught. Each key stage builds upon the one before, so by the time pupils reach the end of KS3, they should have had the opportunity to receive a broad, inclusive religious education.

Pages in this section:

The Attainment Targets

Each Area of Understanding incorporates two Attainment Targets:

  • AT1 Knowledge and Understanding or Learning about religion
  • AT2 Reflection and Response or Learning from religion

Key Stage 1

Areas of Understanding for KS1.

Key Stage 2
Areas of Understanding for KS2.

Key Stage 3
Areas of Understanding for KS3.

SACRE Humber Council Logos

See also

What do you think of the content and resources on this page?
Please enter your comments below