Statutory key content

The basic key content for the six major world faiths in this syllabus is statutory.

Each key stage has its own specified statutory content for each faith.  The key content specified is progressive and cumulative.  The understanding, where a new faith is introduced at a later key stage, is that the teacher will plan to include content designated for the previous key stages.

Where pupils move to a new key stage, teachers make the assumption that they have been taught everything in the key content for the chosen faiths taught in the previous key stages.  Therefore it is important that schools designate which faiths are to be taught in each key stage, following the requirements given in:

How to plan from the Agreed Syllabus

Pages in this section:

Buddhism is a tradition that focuses on personal spiritual development. Buddhists strive for a deep insight into the true nature of life and do not worship gods or deities.
Christianity is the world's biggest religion, with about 2.1 billion followers worldwide. It is based on the teachings of Jesus Christ who lived in the Holy Land 2,000 years ago. For ease of navigation, we include as Christian any group that sincerely regards itself as Christian, and whose beliefs are based on the teaching of Jesus.

Hinduism is the religion of the majority of people in India and Nepal. It also exists among significant populations outside of the sub continent and has over 900 million adherents worldwide. Unlike most other religions, Hinduism has no single founder, no single scripture, and no commonly agreed set of teachings. 
Islam began in Arabia and was revealed to humanity by the Prophet Muhammad. Those who follow Islam are called Muslims. Muslims believe that there is only one God. The Arabic word for God is Allah.

Judaism is one of the oldest monotheistic religions and was founded over 3500 years ago in the Middle East. Jews believe that God appointed the Jews to be his chosen people in order to set an example of holiness and ethical behaviour to the world.
Sikhism was founded in the Punjab by Guru Nanak in the 15th Century and is a monotheistic religion. Sikhs think religion should be practised by living in the world and coping with life's everyday problems.

Supporting resources for world religions from previous syllabus

Resources and information you may find useful in teaching world religions from the previous syllabus.

SACRE Humber Council Logos

See also

What do you think of the content and resources on this page?
Please enter your comments below